Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science: Tutorials & Practice Tests

This guide features computer science resources available through the library and online.

Computer Graphics & Illustration

Learn Computer Graphics & Illustration

Adobe Illustrator  CS6 & CS5 Course 1 Basic Video course created for users who are new to Adobe's powerful vector-based computer drawing software. Includes hands-on practice, interactive content, and step-by-step instruction to help you learn the basics of Illustrator.

Adobe Illustrator  CS6 & CS5 Course 2 Advanced  Video course created to teach experienced users of Adobe's powerful vector-based computer drawing software, how to use its most advanced features. Interactive content and hands-on practice will quickly help you become an expert.

 

Adobe Photoshop Adobe Photoshop CS6 & CS5 Course 1: Basic Video course for users who are new to Adobe's graphics editing software, Photoshop CS5/CS6. Includes hands-on practice, interactive content, and step-by-step instruction, and is designed to make learning the basics of Photoshop effective and easy.

Adobe Photoshop CS6 & CS5 Course 2: Advanced Video course created to teach experienced users of Adobe's popular graphics editing software, how to use its most advanced features. Interactive content and hands-on practice will help you master Photoshop's most advanced features.

Internet Basics

Internet Basics 1: What Is the Internet?     The Internet isn’t just for playing games or communicating with friends—it’s a place to get things done and find useful information. If you’re new to using the Web, start with this fun, step-by-step introduction.

Internet Basics 2: Surfing the Internet        Knowing how to use the Internet is an essential skill. Use this course to learn all the basics of the Web—from using a Web browser and keeping track of the pages you discover, to downloading or uploading files and managing your "cookies."

Internet Basics 3: The Internet as a Search Tool    The Internet is a powerful research tool. This course shows you how to get the information you need, and how to avoid all of the material you don’t.

Internet Basics 4: Using One-on-One Communications    You can communicate with people using the Internet—through email, instant messaging, or even Web-based phone services. In this course, you'll learn about each tool and expand your options for communication.

Websites

BASIC COMPUTER SKILLS

Learning Express

Computer Basics 1: Roles of Computers Computers are the foundation of today's society, but do you know what they can do for you? Discover the time-saving tools available to you on the computer, which can help you communicate, schedule meetings, keep information secure, and more.

Computer Basics 2: Personal Computer FundamentalsFor people new to using computers, terms like hardware, software, and networks can be confusing and intimidating. In this video course, a certified expert explains how computers work, using simple, common-sense language.

MICROSOFT PRODUCTS

Learning Express Computer Skills Center

Microsoft Access 2013-2007 Course 1: Basic Course covers:  Exploring the Access Environment; Building a Database; Managing Data in a Table; Working with Queries; Designing Forms; Generating Reports.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.      Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Access 2013-2007 Course 2: Intermediate Course covers:     Working with Field Properties; Creating Relational Databases; More on Queries; Enhancing Forms; Customizing Reports; Integrating Data with Other Applications.   Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.  

Microsoft Access 2013-2007 Course 3: Advanced Course covers:      Maintaining an Access Database; Distributing & Securing a Database; Making Tasks Simple with Macros; Adding User Interaction with Macros; Automating Reports; Automating with VBA;Creating a Switchboard & Defining Startup Options.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.                Approx. Course Duration: self-paced

Microsoft Excel 2013-2008 Course 1: Basic Course covers:    Exploring Excel; Working with Cells, Rows, & Columns; Using Formulas & Functions; Formatting Worksheet Data; Charts; Printing.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.        

Microsoft Excel 2013-2008 Course 2: Advanced Course covers:     Worksheet Editing Techniques;  Using Excel Databases; Advanced Formulas & Functions; Protection; Pivot Tables; Importing & Exporting Data.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.                  Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft PowerPoint 2013-2008 Course 1: Basic Course covers:  Intro. to PowerPoint; Working with Slide Contents; Presentation Formatting; Customizing a Presentation; Presentation Tips.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.           

Microsoft PowerPoint 2013-2008 Course 2: Advanced Course covers:   Using PowerPoint with Other Office Applications; Additional PowerPoint Tools; Working with Projects; Customizing Presentations.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.    

Microsoft Project 2013-2007 Course 1: Basic Course covers: Getting Started; Reviewing the Workspace; Adding Project Details; Editing Texts; Editing Tasks; Reviewing the Project; Reporting.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.              

Microsoft Project 2013-2007 Course 2: Intermediate Course covers:      Managing Multiple Projects; Formatting Page Layout; Saving Files    Using Templates; Managing Data; Managing Resources; Setting Project Parameters; Resource Conflicts &     Leveling Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.     Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Project 2013-2007 Course 3: Advanced Course covers:   Managing Resources; Tracking Resources; Managing Tasks; Linking Tasks ; Editing Tasks; Reporting; Customizing the Workspace; Closing a Project.   Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.     Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Publisher 2007 Course covers:  Basic Publications; Creating a Multi-page Document; Text Editing & Formatting; Publication Formatting; Working with Graphics; Distributing Publications.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.             

Microsoft SharePoint Designer 2010-2007 Course 1: Basic This Course covers:    Intro. to SharePoint Designer; Web Design Concepts; Navigate in SharePoint Designer; Creating a Site in SharePoint Designer; Creating a Page on Your Site; Modifying Text; Text Formats; Paragraph Formats Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.                Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft SharePoint Designer 2010-2007 Course 2: Intermediate Course covers:    File Management; Dynamic Web Templates; Importing & Exporting a Site;              Working with Code View; Applying Basic Tags; Using the Tag Properties Window; Adding & Modifying Images; ;Formatting Images Using the Pictures Toolbar; Publish a Site.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.

Microsoft SharePoint Designer 2010-2007 Course 3: Advanced Course covers:       Text Styles; Style Sheets; Working with Tables; Interactive Buttons; Top Links Bar; Quick Launch Bar; Master Pages; Web Components; SharePoint Components   Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.   

Microsoft Visio 2010-2007 Part 1 Course covers:   Intro. to Four Courses; Intro. to Microsoft Visio; Core Components of Visio Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.              Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Visio 2010-2007 Part 2 Course covers:    How to Create Diagrams; Custom Properties; Sharing, Saving, & Printing            Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.      Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Visio 2010-2007 Part 3 This Course covers:        Diagrams & Drawing; Business Templates; Software & Databases;             Professional Templates.   Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.                            Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Visio 2010-2007 Part 4    Course covers:      ShapeSheets; Shapes; Visio Automation; Professional Templates.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.   Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

Microsoft Word 2013-2008 Course 1: Basic    Course covers: Exploring Word; Creating New Documents; Formatting Text; Formatting Paragraphs; Using Graphics; Page Formatting.   Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.  

Microsoft Word 2013-2008 Course 2: Advanced   Course covers:Creating Tables; Charts; Using Styles; Working with Documents Sections & Columns; Creating Headers & Footers; Large Document Formatting; Merging Documents; Document Sharing & Collaboration.  Note: Sound must be enabled on your computer.                 Approx. Course Duration: Self-paced

© 2020 Dallas College

Report an Online Accessibility Issue