Vincent van Gogh, Self-portrait, 1887. Joseph Winterbotham Collection, 1954.32, Art Institute of Chicago, oil on artist's board, mounted on cradled panel 16 1/8 x 13 1/4 in. (41 x 32.5 cm
The artist Vincent Van Gogh (1853-1890) is one of the most beloved artist across the world. Before deciding to be a painter in 1880, he was an art dealer, teacher, and preacher. Very few people knew his work, and he only ever sold one painting, he was often alone and had was struggling with himself and had himself institutionalized do to depression. In his early works were very dark instead of using used light and bright colors. However, it wasn’t on till he moved to Paris in 1886, he learned to paint portraits and use color. During this period, he created at least twenty self-portraits. In the last years of his life, he created paintings that one day would become some of the world most influential masterpieces.
Art & Architecture SourceThis link opens in a new windowFind scholarly articles, as well as book chapters, and images, in all areas of art and architecture. The database includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch.
Biography Reference BankThis link opens in a new window"Historical -
Learn about the lives of notable people through articles from magazines, journals, and reference works.
ExploraThis link opens in a new windowCurrent
Find newspaper, magazine, and reference articles on topics studied in middle or high school: history, current events, health, science, and careers. Includes maps, photos, biographies, and primary documents. Limit the results by reading level.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 1,200 electronic reference titles in a broad range of topics.
Grove Art OnlineThis link opens in a new window"Current
Access point for Grove Art Online and other reference sources. Find every period of art history, art forms in every country, art in civilizations and cultures, styles and movements, art techniques, art theories, and artist biographies.
Subscription Oxford Univ. Press"
Japanese Prints by Louis Van Tilborgh"All my work is based to some extent on Japanese art"--Vincent van Gogh, to his brother Theo, July 15, 1888 One hundred and fifty years ago, Vincent van Gogh fell under the enticing spell of Japanese printmaking while working in Paris. He bought over six hundred Japanese prints and displayed them in his studio as inspiration. Van Gogh admired the prints' mastery of strong colors, everyday subjects, unusual spatial effects, and delicate details from nature. When Van Gogh purchased the prints, he was just beginning to develop his own style as a painter, trying to find a modern yet also more primitive kind of painting that engaged directly with the viewer. These Japanese prints helped him find his now legendary style, with nature as a mutual starting point. Presented here, in association with the Van Gogh Museum, is a beautiful exploration of Van Gogh's fascination with Japan and Japanese artwork. This volume reveals a selection of prints, all from the museum's collection, that Van Gogh owned during his lifetime and presents them with the works they inspired. This opportunity to share Van Gogh's vision gives a compelling glimpse into one of the most powerful creative influences behind his art. One hundred and fifty years ago, Vincent van Gogh fell under the enticing spell of Japanese printmaking while working in Paris. He bought over six hundred Japanese prints and displayed them in his studio as inspiration. Van Gogh admired the prints' mastery of strong colors, everyday subjects, unusual spatial effects, and delicate details from nature. When Van Gogh purchased the prints, he was just beginning to develop his own style as a painter, trying to find a modern yet also more primitive kind of painting that engaged directly with the viewer. These Japanese prints helped him find his now legendary style, with nature as a mutual starting point. Presented here, in association with the Van Gogh Museum, is a beautiful exploration of Van Gogh's fascination with Japan and Japanese artwork. This volume reveals a selection of prints, all from the museum's collection, that Van Gogh owned during his lifetime and presents them with the works they inspired. This opportunity to share Van Gogh's vision gives a compelling glimpse into one of the most powerful creative influences behind his art.
Call Number: NE 1321.8 .U35 2018
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Stranger on the Earth by Albert J. LubinThe personality of Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)--a 19th-century combination of dropout, rebel, and genius--and the source of his enormous achievement continue to fascinate people as deeply as his vivid, wildly painted canvasses of sunflowers, peasants, and starry nights. In this first and only in-depth study of the relationship between van Gogh's psychological development and his art, Albert J. Lubin, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry (Emeritus) at Stanford University and a practicing psychoanalyst, draws on the tremendous wealth of information available about van Gogh, to explore his personal conflicts in the context of the forces that molded him: familial, historical, cultural, religious, artistic, and literary. Dr. Lubin approaches van Gogh not as a mysterious mix of sick eccentric and martyred artist, but as a complete man who transformed his suffering into a phenomenal body of work. Lubin's daring psychological insights and art criticism allow us to better understand, and more fully appreciate, van Gogh's artistic triumph over his inner torment.
Call Number: N 6953 .G63 L82 1996
Publication Date: 1996-08-22
Van Gogh by Gerhard GruitrooyThough his career spanned less than ten years, Vincent Van Gogh produced a body of work that remains one of the most enduring in all of modern art. This book is an intriguing look at a creative genius and his compelling art, illustrated with 142 full-color reproductions. Van Gogh pioneered a use of color and perspective that influenced succeeding generations of painters. Tracing his development from his early beginnings in Nuenen and Paris to his work in Arles and Saint-Remy in particular, this volume studies a prolific career marked by greatness and ultimate tragedy.
Call Number: ND 653 .G7 G78 1994
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Van Gogh by Steven Naifeh; Gregory White SmithNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Steven Naifeh and Gregory White Smith galvanized readers with their astonishing Jackson Pollock: An American Saga, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for biography, a book acclaimed for its miraculous research and overwhelming narrative power. Now Naifeh and Smith have written another tour de force--an exquisitely detailed, compellingly readable, and ultimately heartbreaking portrait of creative genius Vincent van Gogh. Working with the full cooperation of the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, Naifeh and Smith have accessed a wealth of previously untapped materials. While drawing liberally from the artist's famously eloquent letters, they have also delved into hundreds of unpublished family correspondences, illuminating with poignancy the wanderings of Van Gogh's troubled, restless soul. Naifeh and Smith bring a crucial understanding to the larger-than-life mythology of this great artist--his early struggles to find his place in the world; his intense relationship with his brother Theo; his impetus for turning to brush and canvas; and his move to Provence, where in a brief burst of incandescent productivity he painted some of the best-loved works in Western art. The authors also shed new light on many unexplored aspects of Van Gogh's inner world: his deep immersion in literature and art; his erratic and tumultuous romantic life; and his bouts of depression and mental illness. Though countless books have been written about Van Gogh, and though the broad outlines of his tragedy have long inhabited popular culture, no serious, ambitious examination of his life has been attempted in more than seventy years. Naifeh and Smith have re-created Van Gogh's life with an astounding vividness and psychological acuity that bring a completely new and sympathetic understanding to this unique artistic genius whose signature images of sunflowers and starry nights have won a permanent place in the human imagination.
Call Number: N 6953 .G3 N35 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Van Gogh's Flowers by Judith BumpusTowards the end of Van Gogh's short life, during his time in Provence, his pictures of flowers and plants acquired a singular beauty and intensity. Nature and the countryside provided him with the inspiration, restorative power and freshness of subject matter for which he seems to have yearned. The sight of trees in blossom, flowery meadows, sunflowers and irises prompted endless experiments in colour and movement to result in a wealth of vibrant and intensely beautiful paintings. This stunning book celebrates Van Gogh's profound love of flowers. It contains a broad selection of ravishing colour illustrations, together with a number of the artist's alluring and intriguing pen-and-ink drawings, which demonstrate the vigorous and individual calligraphy of his work. The text draws upon Van Gogh's own moving and descriptive letters to show the great importance to him of nature and flowers, and includes documentary material that is essential and exclusive.
Call Number: ND 653 .G7 A4 1989a
Publication Date: 1998-08-20
Van Gogh and Music by Natascha Veldhorst; Diane Webb"Ah! . . . to make of painting what the music of Berlioz and Wagner has been before us . . . a consolatory art for distressed hearts!"--Vincent van Gogh This engaging book is the first in-depth investigation of the influential role that music and sound played throughout Vincent van Gogh's (1853-1890) life. From psalms and hymns to the operas of Richard Wagner to simple birdsong, music represented to Van Gogh the ultimate form of artistic expression. And he believed that by emulating music painting could articulate deep truths and impart a lasting emotional impact on its viewers. In Van Gogh and Music Natascha Veldhorst provides close readings of the many allusions to music in the artist's prolific correspondence and examines the period's artistic theory to offer a rich picture of the status of music in late 19th-century culture. Veldhorst shows the extent to which Van Gogh not only admired the ability of music to inspire emotion, but how he incorporated musical subject matter and techniques into his work, with illustrations of celebrated paintings such as Sunflowers in a Vase, which he described as "a symphony in blue and yellow." An expansive inquiry into the significance of sound and music for the artist, including the formative influence of his song-filled upbringing, Van Gogh and Music is full of fascinating new insights into the work of one of history's most venerated artists.]]>
Call Number: ND 653 .G7 V45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
Van Gogh and the Seasons by Sjraar van Heugten; Joan Greer (Contribution by); Ted Gott (Contribution by)A new look at the ways van Gogh represented the seasons and the natural world throughout his career The changing seasons captivated Vincent van Gogh (1853-90), who saw in their unending cycle the majesty of nature and the existence of a higher force. Van Gogh and the Seasons is the first book to explore this central aspect of van Gogh's life and work. Van Gogh often linked the seasons to rural life and labor as men and women worked the land throughout the year. From his depictions of peasants and sowers to winter gardens, riverbanks, orchards, and harvests, he painted scenes that richly evoke the sensory pleasures and deprivations particular to each season. This stunning book brings to life the locales that defined his tumultuous career, from Arles, where he experienced his most crucial period of creativity, to Auvers-sur-Oise, where he committed suicide. It looks at van Gogh's interpretation of nature, the religious implications of the seasons in his time, and how his art was perceived against the backdrop of various symbolist factions, antimaterialist debates, and esoteric beliefs in fin de siècle Paris. The book also features revealing extracts from the artist's correspondence and artworks from his own collection that provide essential context to the themes in his work. Breathtakingly illustrated and featuring informative essays by Sjraar van Heugten, Joan Greer, and Ted Gott, Van Gogh and the Seasons shines new light on the extraordinary creative vision of one of the world's most beloved artists.
Call Number: ND 653.G7 A4 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
Vincent Van Gogh by Victoria Charles; Klaus H. CarlThe incarnation of the myth of a cursed artist, Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) is a legend who became a reference for modern art. An Expressionist during the PostImpressionist movement, his art was misunderstood during his lifetime. In Holland, he partook in the Dutch realist painting movement by studying peasant characters. Anxious and depressed, Vincent van Gogh produced more than 2000 artworks, yet sold only one in his lifetime. A self-made artist, his work is known for its rough and emotional beauty and is amongst the most popular in the art market today