Skip to main content
Mountain View College students have access to many databases with full-text book chapters, articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), and more.
NOTE: You will need your Library Account Login info to access the databases, which is your name and ID number.
Google searches get lots of results, but it can be difficult to determine which websites provide reliable, accurate information that is appropriate for college-level research. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources.
Articles used for research, the ones you will cite in your Works Cited or Reference List, must be full text. If you only have a part of an article (or just a summary/abstract), you cannot use it. Google searches often lead you to portions of articles that require payment for full-text access. With library databases, you can access full-text articles for free.
Need Instruction on how to use the Databases?
Academic Search Complete
Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on just about any subject. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts & literature, business, & law.
Click on the link below to access a guide on using Academic Search Complete.
Current Issues Databases
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Covers current event issues and controversies, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images.
Points of View
Provides more than 500 controversial and current topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. Also contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos.
SIRS Knowledge Source
Find newspaper and magazine articles on current events and social issues. SIRS provides overviews with images, maps, statistics, and opposing viewpoints.
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching
- Click the link below.
- Select a subject from All Subjects Drop-down menu.