Skip to main content

Call Numbers (Library of Congress Classification): Z

The Mountain View College Library organizes its books according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. This guide will describe what each range of the LC call numbers means,

Class Z -- Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources (General)

Z--Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography
ZA--Information resources (General)

Subclasses

Z4‑115.5--Books (General). Writing. Paleography

Z4‑8--History of books and bookmaking

Z40‑104.5--Writing

Z41‑42.5--Autographs. Signatures

Z43‑45--Calligraphy. Penmanship

Z48--Duplicating processes. Copying services

Including mimeographing, multilithing

Z49‑51.5--Typewriters. Typewriting. Keyboards. Keyboarding

Z52‑52.5--Word processing

Z53‑102--Shorthand. Stenography. Phonography

Z102.5‑104.5--Cryptography. Ciphers. Invisible writing

Z105‑115.5--Manuscripts. Paleography

Z116‑659--Book industries and trade

Z116.A2--Treatises on the modern printed book

Z116.A3--Book design

Z116.A5‑265.5--Printing

Z124‑228--History

Z231‑234--Printers and printing establishments

Z234--Medallic history of printing. Tokens

Z235‑236--Printer's marks, mottoes, etc.

Z237--Paper. Watermarks, etc.

Z240‑241.5--Incunabula. Block books

Including broadsides, playing cards

Z242.9‑264.5--Practical printing

Including printing as a business, layout, paper and ink, machinery, type and type founding, electrotyping, desktop publishing, typesetting, presswork

Z265‑265.5--Representation or reproduction of books, documents, etc., by photography, microphotography, or other means

Z266‑276--Bookbinding. Book decoration

Z278‑549--Bookselling and publishing

Z551‑656--Copyright

Z657‑659--Freedom of the press. Censorship

Z662‑1000.5--Libraries

Z662‑664--Collections

Z665‑718.8--Library science. Information science

Z668‑669.7--Library education. Research

Z672‑Z672.13--Library cooperation and coordination

Z674.7‑674.83--Library information networks

Z675--Classes of libraries

Z678‑678.88--Library administration and organization. Constitution

Z678.89‑678.892--Library service agencies

Z678.9‑Z678.93--Automation

Z679‑680--Library buildings. Library architecture

Including planning, space utilization, security, safety, lighting, etc.

Z680.3‑680.6--Library communication systems

Z681‑681.3--Reproduction of library materials. Storage media of library materials

Z681.5‑681.7--Trustees. Library boards, committees, etc.

Z682‑682.4--Personnel

Z683‑683.5--Finance. Insurance

Z684‑685--Supplies. Shelving. Bookstacks

Z686--Branches. Delivery stations. Bookmobiles

Z687‑718.85--The collections. The books

Z688--Special collections

Z688.5‑Z688.6--Processing

Z689‑689.8--Acquisition (selection, purchase, gifts, duplicates)

Z690--Exchanges

Z691‑692--Special classes of materials

Including manuscripts, maps, microforms, serials

Z693‑695.83--Cataloging

Z695.85--Library handwriting

Z695.87--Printing of catalogs

Z695.9‑695.94--Indexing. Abstracting

Z695.95--Alphabetizing. Filing

Z695.98--Recataloging. Reclassification

Z696‑697--Classification and notation

Z698--Shelflisting. Author notation

Z699‑699.5--Machine methods of information and retrieval. Mechanized bibliographic control

Z699.7--Physical processing. Shelf preparation

Z700--Bookbinding

Z700.9‑701.5--Physical parameters, preservation, conservation and restoration of books and other library materials

Z702--Thefts and losses of books and other library materials

Z703.5--Stack management. Disposition of books on shelves, etc.

Z703.6--Discarding. Weeding

Z711‑711.95--Public services. Reference services

Z712‑714--Circulation. Loans. Charging systems

Z716‑716.15--Library extension. Library commissions. Traveling libraries

Z716.2‑718.85--Libraries in relation to special topics

Including libraries and community, libraries and television, children's libraries, libraries and students

Z719‑723--Libraries (General)

Z729‑875--Library reports. History. Statistics

Z881‑977--Library catalogs and bulletins

Z987‑996.3--Book collecting

Including bibliophilism, bookplates

Z997-997.2--Private libraries

Z999‑1000.5--Booksellers' catalogs

Z1001‑1121--General bibliography

Z1001--Introduction to bibliography. Theory, philosophy, psychology. Bibliography. Documentation

Z1003‑1003.5--Choice of books. Books and reading. Book reviews

Z1003.8‑Z1004--Biography of bibliographers

Z1011‑1017--General bibliographies

Z1019‑1033--Special classes of books

Including prohibited books, rare books, paperbacks, reprints

Z1035‑1035.9--Best books

Z1036--Booksellers' general catalogs of modern books

Z1037‑1039--Books for special classes of persons, institutions, etc.

Z1041‑1107--Anonyms and pseudonyms

Z1201‑4980--National bibliography

Z1201‑1946--America

Z1215‑1363--United States

Z1365‑1401--Canada. British North America

Z1411‑1939--Mexico. Central America. West Indies. South America

Z1975--Eastern Hemisphere

Z2000‑2959--Europe

Z3001‑3496--Asia

Z3501‑3975--Africa

Z4001‑4980--Australia. Oceania

Z5051‑7999--Subject bibliography

Subjects arranged in alphabetical sequence

Z8001‑8999--Personal bibliography

Names of individuals arranged in alphabetical sequence

ZA3038‑5190--Information resources (General)

ZA3150‑3159--Information services. Information centers

ZA3201‑3250--Information superhighway

ZA4050‑4775--Information in specific formats or media

ZA4050‑4480--Electronic information resources

ZA4150‑4380--Computer network resources

ZA4450‑4460--Databases

ZA4550‑4575--Motion pictures. Video recordings

ZA4650‑4675--Pictures. Photographs

ZA4750‑4775--Sound recordings

ZA5049‑5190--Government information 

Loading ...

© 2018 Dallas County Community College District.

Report an Online Accessibility Issue