Skip to main content

Call Numbers (Library of Congress Classification): A

The Mountain View College Library organizes its books according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. This guide will describe what each range of the LC call numbers means,

Class A - General Works

AC--Collections. Series. Collected works

AE--Encyclopedias

AG--Dictionaries and other general reference works

AI--Indexes

AM--Museums. Collectors and collecting

AN--Newspapers

AP--Periodicals

AS--Academies and learned societies

AY--Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories

AZ--History of scholarship and learning. The humanities

Subclasses

AC1-999--Collections. Series. Collected works

AC1-195--Collections of monographs, essays, etc.

AC1-8--American and English

AC9-195--Other languages

AC200--Collections for Jewish readers

AC801-895--Inaugural and program dissertations

AC901-995--Pamphlet collections

AC999--Scrapbooks

AE1-(90)--Encyclopedias

AE5-(90)--By language

AG2-600--Dictionaries and other general reference works

AI1-21--Indexes

AM1-(501)--Museums. Collectors and collecting

AM10-100--By country

AM111-160--Museology. Museum methods, technique, etc.

AM200-(501)--Collectors and collecting
 

AN--Newspapers

AP1-(271)--Periodicals

AP101-115--Humorous periodicals

AP200-230--Juvenile periodicals

AP(250)-(265)--Periodicals for women

AP(270)-(271)--Periodicals for Blacks

AS1-945--Academies and learned societies

AS2.5-4--International associations, congresses, conferences, etc.

AS11-785--By region or country

AY10-2001--Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories

AY10-29--Annuals

AY30-1730--Almanacs

AY2001--Directories. General works on the compilation of directories, etc.

Class directories by subject in B-Z

AZ(20)-999--History of scholarship and learning. The humanities

AZ101-(181)--Philosophy. Theory

AZ191-193--Evaluation

AZ200-361--History

AZ501-908--By region or country

Loading ...

© 2018 Dallas County Community College District.

Report an Online Accessibility Issue